A call can be transferred in one of three ways:

  • Consultative transfer—You have the option of either talking to the person to whom you are transferring the call, or you can choose not to talk to the person, and complete the transfer when you hear the person’s ring-back sound.
  • Blind transfer—The call is automatically transferred after you dial the number of the person to whom you want to transfer the call. You do not have the option of talking to the person.
  • Attended transfer—Conference call participants are automatically connected to each other after you exit a conference.

Performing a Consultative Transfer

Perform a consultative transfer if you want to talk to the person to whom you are transferring the call. Or, you can choose not to talk to the person. In this case, you wait for the person’s ring-back sound, and then transfer the call.

To transfer a call: 

1. During a call, press the Transfer soft key. The call is placed on hold.
2. From the Enter number screen, place a call to the person to whom you want to transfer the call.
3. When you hear the ring-back sound, press the Transfer soft key. 
The transfer is complete. 
If you want to talk privately to the person to whom you are transferring the call before the transfer is complete, wait until the person answers the call, talk to the person, and then press the Transfer soft key. 
You can cancel the transfer before the call connects by pressing the Cancel soft key.

Performing a Blind Transfer

When you use a blind transfer, you transfer a call without speaking to the person to whom you are transferring the call. The call is automatically transferred as soon as you dial the person’s number. 

To perform a blind transfer:

1. During a call, press the Transfer soft key.
The Enter number screen displays, with the Blind soft key.

2. Press the Blind soft key.
The Blind transfer to screen displays.

3. Place a call to the person to whom you want to transfer the call. 
If you want to cancel the transfer before the call is placed, and return to the original call, press the Cancel soft key.
The call automatically transfers to the person you specified.